

Players on the 5th green with the silhouette of Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.



Dunstanburgh Castle from the 5th green.



The approach to the 7^{th} green during a dry summer.



Dunstanburgh Castle from the 8th green.



The approach to the 12th.



The 16th green.



The approach to the 3rd green.



Signature hole: the tee shot at the 13th which is known as 'the castle hole'.



Dunstanburgh Castle and Embleton Bay from the second fairway.



The clubhouse and car park with Embleton Village in the background.



Aerial view of the course looking north with the castle in the foreground.



Aerial view of the course looking south, with the clubhouse in the foreground.

LADIES' CLUB PHOTOGRAPHS



Prize Winners: Edna Magnay, Dorothy Leach, Betty Varnham with Lady Sutherland.



Prize Winners 1962: Joyce Atkinson, Lily Elliott, Betty Varnham, Dorothy Skipper, Nellie Carss.



Jenny Lee Smith playing an exhibition match with Nick Faldo, Jane Denham and Tony Jacklin.



The Marquis of Tavistock presenting the Ford Ladies Classic Trophy to Jennie Lee Smith at Woburn on 8th May 1982 with Mr Prendergast representing the sponsors.



Peggy Donkin's 80th birthday celebration in 1977. Front row – Eve Patterson, Peggy Donkin, Nellie Carss and Hilda Blair. Back Row – Nell Carss, Wendy Richardson, Dorothy Wilkinson, Betty Varnham, Dorothy Humble, Dorothy Skipper, Isabel Wright.



Peggy Donkin in 1925.



Lady Presidents' Day 2000

Back row: Miss J. Logan, Mrs D. Magnay, Mrs A Camozzi (Treasurer), Mrs J Scrivener, Mrs E Hilton, Mrs K Moody, Mrs L S Dixon, Mrs S Temple, Mrs A Fledger, Mrs J Leathart, Mrs M Readman, Miss L M Granlund.

Middle row: Mrs A Dell, Mrs R Macintosh, Mrs D Wilkinson (Secretary), Mrs D Rowland, Mrs I Wright, Mrs S Baggott.

Mrs D Lillie (Captain), Mrs A Reay, Mrs P Daymont, Mrs J Long.

Front row: Mrs E T Carss, Mrs E Patterson, Mrs M Hogg, Mrs D Skipper, Mrs J A Robson (President), Lady Sutherland, Mrs E Unsworth, Mrs R Donkin, Mrs J Sutherland.

MEN'S CLUB PHOTOGRAPHS



The Past Captains Dinner, 2000.

Back Row:

John Carss Jnr. (1983), George Curry (1999), Jimmy Givens (1996), Steve White (1994) Les Turnbull (1984), Michael Robson (1993), Eric Wealleans (1985).

Middle Row:

Gerry Camozzi (2000), David Jackson (1991/1992), Robert Jamieson (1998), Alan Robson (1986), Doug Hogg (1998), Gordon Rycroft (1995), Brian May (1997), Raymond Carss (1982), Bill Price (2001), Bill Scott (1980).

Front Row:

Tony McGrady (1979), Tom Foggett ((1948), Secretary), Paddy Raeburn (1975), Norman Laidler (1963), Ken Thompson (1956), Michael Anderson (1960), Keith Barrs (1969), Brian Magnay (1974), Bill Foote (1978).



Presentation of Trophies 1947. From the left: Walter Appleby, Charlie Varnham Jnr., Mrs Donkin.



Captains Drive-in 1956. Jack Carss (left) congratulates new captain, Ken Thomson, with Sir Ivan Sutherland looking on.



Trophy winners in 1960: Bill Elliott, Tom Mills, Charlie Varnham, Ted Potter, Jim Blair and Bill Robson.





Dixon Donkin, who was the first Captain in1947.

Bill and Lily Elliott on the course: summer 1955.



Lady Sutherland, who presented the trophies in 1960 pictured here with George Magnay, Jack Stang, Jim Blair, Fred Leach, Robbie Robinson and Bill Robson.



1960 Trophy winners Michael Anderson, Tommy Donkin, Charlie Varnham and Ken Thompson.



Doug Hogg's 'Captain's Drive In' 1988

Standing: Michael Robson, Michael Laidler, Jimmy Givens, Charlie Varnham, Robert Jamieson, Bill Tippins, Bruce Ford, Graham Stephenson, David Jackson, Raymond Carss, Peter Gilbert, Alan Robson, George Curry. Seated: Fred Stephenson, Les Turnbull, Jack Thompson, Doug Hogg, John Carss, Phillip Baston and George Fettis.



Dinner, Dance and Presentation 1975.

Back Row:

Robert Jamieson, Glyn Barrs, Ian Turnbull, Jack Beal, Eric Wealleans, Tom Ford, Dennis Theobald, Maurice Scott, Alan Robson, Les Turnbull, Jeff Smith, Gerry Theobald.

Front Row:

John Roper, Bill Robson, Dick Proudfoot, Edith Raeburn, Paddy Raeburn, Harry Lumsden, Tom Watson.

Dunstanburgh Castle Golf Course was established, in 1900, as an attraction for visitors to the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel and it has remained a proprietary course ever since. In first section of this book, the current owner, Dr Peter Gilbert, outlines its history and traces interrelated influences of owners, members and visitors in shaping its character.

In the next section, two contributors remember formative, boyhood hours spent on the course. William Sutherland, a previous owner, draws poetically on memories of the scenery and wildlife he enjoyed as he played and worked on the course. Tommy Foggett then describes the origins of the men's club in the 1940s, recalling how his father encouraged local residents to play on a subscription basis.

In the third section, long-term members, Eric Wealleans and Judy Robson, summarise the history of the men's and ladies' clubs.



One of the earliest photographs of the course shows Robert and Gertrude Bell, of Seahouses, putting on a green on what is now the seventh fairway. Some time later Mr Bell was being treated in a sanatorium in Switzerland and the friend who had taken the photograph sent it as a post card on 2nd August, 1905.